The probable lineups for Switzerland-Italy: Fagioli and Mancini from the 1st minute, Yakin focuses on Ndoye

Switzerland and Italy will open the round of 16 of Euro 2024 this evening at the Olympiastadion in Berlin. From 6:00 pm, the 62nd match between these two national teams will begin. The balance is clearly in favor of the Azzurri: 29 wins for Italy, 24 draws and eight victories for the Swiss. Switzerland has not won since 1993, but the last two draws have cost Italy qualification for the World Cup in Qatar in 2022 in favor of Murat Yakin’s team who yesterday, in a press conference, analyzed Luciano Spalletti’s team as follows: “Italy is able to vary and play with many modules, it is the country of tactics and I like this. They know how to defend and play collectively, they play with man-marking all over the pitch, it is something that Atalanta also does for example”.

On the other hand, the coach of our national team complimented Switzerland on how it is behaving in this competition: “Yakin is very good, Switzerland is a team that is good on the pitch and showed its qualities against Germany. From what we have seen and from direct knowledge, we know that it has quality and strength. an important player on an international level. But these are all things that are part of the level and football that we can show.” The Polish Szymon Marciniak will referee the match. Whoever passes this round will challenge the winner of England-Slovakia on Saturday 6 July in Dusseldorf.

Switzerland-Italy, probable formations
Switzerland (3-4-2-1) – Summer; Schar, Akanji, Rodriguez; Stergiou, Freuler, Xhaka, Aebischer; Ndoye, Vargas, Embolo. Available: Mvogo, Kobel, Elvedi, Zesiger, Zakaria, Steffen, Zuber, Sierro, Shaqiri, Jashari, Rieder, Okafor, Duah, Amdouni. Technical Commissioner: Murat Yakin.

Italy (4-3-3) – Donnarumma; Di Lorenzo, Mancini, Bastoni, Darmian; Cristante, Fagioli, Barella; Church, Scamacca, El Shaarawy. Available: Vicario, Meret, Dimarco, Good morning, Gatti, Bellanova, Cambiaso, Frattesi, Jorginho, Pellegrini, Raspadori, Retegui, Zaccagni. Folorunsho. Technical Commissioner: Luciano Spalletti.