Italy Under 21, many debutants among the 26 called up for the Toulon Tournament. Fabbian is there

The Under 21 national team will close its season with participation in the fiftieth edition of the ‘Tournoi Maurice Revello’, an event that the Azzurrini will return to play 13 years after their last appearance. The tournament will be played from Monday 3 to Sunday 16 June in the south of France, with 10 teams at the start divided into two groups of 5 and Italy (which will return to the field in September for the EURO 2025 qualifiers) inserted in Group B with Ukraine, Indonesia (which replaced Egypt), Japan and Panama.

The debut of Carmine Nunziata’s team is scheduled for Tuesday 4 June at 3pm in Vitrolles against Japan. This will be followed by Ukraine-Italy (Thursday 6th at 3pm in Aubagne), Italy-Panama (Monday 10th at 6.15pm again in Aubagne) and Italy-Indonesia (Wednesday 12th at 6.15pm in Salon). In the middle, the rest round scheduled for the third day, Saturday 8th. The other group includes Saudi Arabia, Ivory Coast, France, Mexico and South Korea. At the end of the group stage, the top-ranked each group will play the final for first and second place, and so on down to the final for ninth and tenth position reserved for the fifth-placed teams.

Nunziata, for the ‘Tournoi Maurice Revello’, has called up 26 players who will gather by the evening of Sunday 2 June in a hotel in Fiumicino (Rome): the list includes numerous players making their first call to the Under 21s. The defenders Bertola, Bonfanti, Fontanarosa, Pieragnolo and Veroli, the midfielders Faticanti, Pisilli and Zuccon, the attackers Cerri, Fini, Kouda and Raimondo. Departure for Marseille is scheduled for the following day, with Nunziata who will be available to the media for a press conference (with the possibility of remote connection for the media) scheduled for 2.30 pm. The ‘Tournoi Maurice Revello’ matches will be broadcast live on Rai 2.

The list of those called up
Jacopo Sassi (Pro Vercelli), Filippo Rinaldi (Olbia), Gioele Zacchi (Giana Erminio);
Defenders: Nicolò Bertola (Spezia), Giovanni Bonfanti (Atalanta), Christian Dalle Mura (Ternana), Alessandro Fontanarosa (Cosenza), Daniele Ghilardi (Sampdoria), Edoardo Pieragnolo (Reggiana), Riccardo Turicchia (Juventus), Davide Veroli (Catanzaro), Mattia Zanotti (St. Gallen);
Midfielders: Alessandro Bianco (Reggiana), Giovanni Fabbian (Bologna), Giacomo Faticanti (Ternana), Luis Hasa (Juventus), Cher Ndour (Braga), Niccolò Pisilli (Roma), Franco Tongya (AEK Larnaca), Cristian Volpato (Sassuolo), Federico Zuccon (Cosenza);
Attackers: Leonardo Cerri (Juventus), Sebastiano Esposito (Sampdoria), Seydou Fini (Standard Liège), Rachid Kouda (Spezia), Antonio Raimondo (Ternana).

Group A: Saudi Arabia, Ivory Coast, France, Mexico, South Korea
Group B: Ukraine, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Panama

First day – Tuesday 4 June (Vitrolles)
3pm: ITALY-Japan (press conference to follow)
6pm: Indonesia-Ukraine
Rest: Panama

Second day – Thursday 6 June (Aubagne)
3pm: Ukraine-ITALY (press conference to follow)
6pm: Indonesia-Panama
Rest: Japan

Third day – Saturday 8 June (Fos)
2pm: Japan-Indonesia
5.30pm: Ukraine-Panama

Fourth day – Monday 10 June (Aubagne)
2.30pm: Ukraine-Japan
6.15pm: ITALY-Panama (press conference to follow)
Rest: Indonesia

Fifth day – Wednesday 12 June (Salon)
2.30pm: Japan-Panama
6.15 pm: ITALY-Indonesia (press conference to follow)

Friday 14 June
2pm: 9th-10th place (Arles)
6pm: 7th-8th place (Arles)
5pm: 5th-6th place (Mallemort)
Sunday 16 June
2.30 pm: 3rd-4th place (Salon)
6.15pm: 1st-2nd place (Salon)